2019's Most Anticipated Blood Curdlers

2019 is already shaping up to be awesome for readers like us.

Over the last couple weeks I've been hunting down all of the exciting books dropping in 2019. Books about teethy horrors, grimdark cities, and stories untold. I've worked to assemble a list of books I'm looking forward to. Think of it as my very own spooky book shopping list. Which you're allowed to steal from full sale.

The Worst is Yet to Come by S.P. Miskowski

Trepidatio Publishing | February 22, 2019

The Worst Is Yet To Come_S_P_Miskowski.jpg

I can't think of a better way to start this list than with one of the best writers in genre fiction. A S.P. Miskowski story is always something to look forward to. A S.P. Miskowski novel is an event. Her new novel takes us back to Skillute, Washington, the setting of several of her previous books. The best part about The Worst is Yet To Come is that it comes out in February.

The Lady from the Black Lagoon: Hollywood Monsters and the Lost Legacy of Millicent Patrick by Mallory O'Meara

Hanover Square Press | March 5, 2019

The Lady From The Black Lagoon_Mallory O'Meara.jpg

I love books about film, and that goes double for books about horror films. Mallory O'Meara has written an expose about Milicent Patrick, the designer of the Creature of the Black Lagoon. She never got her due for her incredible work. This is clearly a story that needs to be told. I can't wait to see this new corner of horror film history.

Pre-order The Lady from the Black Lagoon: Hollywood Monsters and the Lost Legacy of Millicent Patrick

Inspection by Josh Malerman

Del Rey | April 23, 2019

Inspection_Josh Malerman.jpg

'Author of BIRD BOX'. You can see it right there near the bottom of this creepy blue-tinged cover. Do you need any more explanation of why this book is on this list? The Amazon description talks about two schools tucked away in the dark of the woods. It talks about secrets and horrors unknown. All the things on my horror Wishlist.

Pre-order Inspection

Black Mountain (An Isaiah Coleridge Novel Book 2) by Laird Barron

G.P. Putnam's Sons | May 7, 2019

Black Mountain_Laird Barron.jpg

Crack those knuckles because Isaiah Coleridge is BACK. Laird Barron's leg-breaker turned part time P.I. is back for another adventure. Blood Standard was a blast, and I can't wait to see Coleridge battle a vast conspiracy and also kick people's teeth in. Barron style.

Pre-order Black Mountain (An Isaiah Coleridge Novel Book 2)

The Grand Dark by Richard Kadrey 

Harper Voyager | June 11, 2019

The Grand Dark_Richard Kadrey.jpg

The Sandman Slim series is a perfect blend of urban fantasy and dark fun. Richard Kadrey is a master of putting together masterful worlds filled with big characters and even bigger monsters. His newest novel, set in a bleak, fantasy city, sounds like a new masterpiece in his bibliography. Plus, that cover. Double Wowza!

Pre-order The Grand Dark

Growing Things and Other Stories by Paul Tremblay

William Morrow | July 2, 2019

Growing Things_Paul Tremblay.jpg

Paul Tremblay is an award-winning author that brings that psychological-terror heat like no one else can. A Headful of Ghosts is one of the best horror novels you can read. Growing Things and Other Stories is his newest collection. A grisly little bird told me that one of the stories included connects with the aforementioned horror novel classic. Let's grow away!

Pre-order Growing Things and Other Stories

The Toll by Cherie Priest

Tor Books | July 9, 2019

The Toll_Cherie Preist.jpg

Cherie Priest... can kind of do it all! Though I haven't read her horror novels, this one sounds promising as heck. Seven bridges and a spooky swamp. I'm ready for whatever ride Cherie Priest is going to take us on.

Pre-order The Toll

Echoes: A Saga Anthology of Ghost Stories edited by Ellen Datlow

Saga Press | August 20, 2019

Echoes_Ellen Datlow.jpg

Ellen Datlow, ghosts, and a table of contents that everyone could shudder at. I love every collection that Ellen puts out, and one centered around white sheet/floating around a room ghosts is going to make for some great reading.

Pre-order Echoes: The Saga Anthology of Ghost Stories

This House of Wounds by Georgina Bruce

Undertow Publications | TBA

This House of Wounds_Georgina Bruce.jpeg

I'm slow to discover new writers. Thankfully, publishers like Undertow Publications are leading me right to them. I saw this title (and that cover, Combo Wowza!) and jotted down Georgina Bruce's name. When I read Georgina's story 'Dogs' in Shimmer Magazine, this collection suddenly became a priority read for me.

There you have it! Unfortunately, this list is nowhere near complete. I'm sure I'm missing dozens of amazing works that haven't been announced, or are hiding somewhere on the internet outside my limited gaze. But this is a good place to start. If you have any other books I should look for, feel free to comment below!